skip navigation
Dayton Rangers 2015 Team Photo

Back Row (L to R): Jonmarc Lippincott, Joe Staten, Brennen Glass, Phil Dickerson, Robert Riley, Kody Barth, Ben Schubert. Front Row (L to R): Steve Marshall, Todd Peck, Brandon Riley, Joe Becker, Nick Gilmore

Dayton Rangers Home Page

Visit the Rangers home page.

Rangers Roundup

Rangers Defeat Boars, Fall to Knights

By Jonmarc Lippincott 06/19/2017, 10:45pm EDT

The Rangers took on both the Wild Boars and the Wright Knights in a split doubleheader at AIA in Xenia on Saturday, June 17. The first game against the Boars was a scheduled game, followed by a rain makeup with the Knights.

Shawn Schmitt returned to the mound for the first time in 2017 and showed no sign of rust, blanking the Boars through the first five innings, before allowing a run in the sixth, and earning the 'W' in the 14-1 victory.

Missing several full-time players, the Rangers still played competitive baseball throughout the day. In game one, rookie Stephen Hoendorf belted his first home run of the season to give the Rangers a 1-0 lead in the second inning. Eric Becker's two-run single in the third moved it 3-0.  Jonmarc Lippincott smacked a two-run double to increase the lead to 5-0 in the fourth. Hoendorf added an RBI triple in the fifth, and Rob Pederson picked up his first career hit with a run-scoring single.

The floodgates opened in the bottom of the sixth, as the Rangers pounded out five hits and scored seven runs. Nick Gilmore had an RBI single. Joe Becker and Cody Oakes added RBI doubles. Schmitt and Cooper Nolte also drove in runs in the inning.

Newly acquired Andrew Collins tossed a scoreless seventh inning and struck out two in his MVABL debut.

Game 2 against the Knights started out rough as players were dropping like flies and errors were a-plenty early on. Already thin in player personnel, the Rangers lost players to hamstring pulls, groin pulls, and a concussion.

Looking to continue Collins' success from game 1, he was sent back out to start game 2. He looked sharp producing  8 groundballs. The downside was that four of them resulted in errors as the Rangers found themselves in an early 5-0 hole through 1 1/2 innings. 

The Rangers' first tally came on a two-out RBI single from Nolte in the bottom of the second. Eric Becker drove in the second run in the third. The Knights powered up in the fourth off Rangers' reliever Joe Becker. Anthony Turner launched a solo HR, and after a single, Alan Hooper drove a ball to the left-centerfield gap that looked like it would be caught. However, the injury bug caught the Rangers' centerfielder midstream, allowing the ball to fall in and roll all the way to the fence, resulting in an inside-the-park HR.  The Knights added one more run to increase their lead to 9-2.

The Knights pushed two more runs across in the top of the sixth for an 11-2 score. However, the Rangers figured out a way to make a game of it, scoring 7 runs in the bottom of the sixth for the second time of the day.

Joe Becker, Nolte, and Gilmore singled to load the bases for Lippincott, who drove in a pair with a single down the right field line. Brandon Marshall followed with an RBI single. And after Oakes singled to load the bases again, Hoendorf unloaded for a grand slam, his second longball of the afternoon. 

Staring at an 11-9 deficit in the bottom of the seventh, the Rangers could almost taste victory. Nolte led off with a walk and Gilmore singled. With one out, Marshall walked to load the bases. An ensuing wild pitch was uncorked, allowing Nolte to score and putting the tying run at third and the winning run at second. Oakes, already with 5 hits on the day, drilled a first-pitch fastball, only to be snagged by a lunging third baseman who subsequently doubled off Gilmore, who had no chance to get back in time.

A valiant comeback attempt, but the Rangers fell 11-10 in the nightcap, losing to the Knights for the first time since August 18, 2013.

W/L Record

Year Wins Losses
2016 12 9
2015 20 5
2014 19 8
2013 17 10
2012 18 11
2011 14 13
2010 19 6
2009 18 5
2008 16 11
2007 12 8
2006 11 10
2005 9 12
2004 11 10
2003 18 3
2002 18 4
2001 12 13
2000 11 16
1999 12 12
1998 22 13
1997 10 14


Year Players
2016 Eric Becker, Joe Becker, Matt Delbridge, Nick Gilmore, Jonmarc Lippincott, Todd Peck, Robert Riley
2015 Brandon Riley, Nick Gilmore, Joe Becker, Brennen Glass, Steve Marshall, Ben Schubert
2014 Brandon Riley, Robert Riley, Kody Barth
2013 Brandon Riley, Robert Riley, Joe Becker, Matthew Delbridge
2012 Brandon Riley, Robert Riley, Jonmarc Lippincott, Ian Huss, Shawn Schmitt
2011 Ben Schubert, Zach Carroll, Shawn Schmitt
2010 Jonmarc Lippincott, Robert Riley, Shawn Schmitt, Ben Schooler, Clint Wolf, Joe Staten, Jonathan Silverman
2009 Jonmarc Lippincott, Robert Riley, Steve Marshall, Brad Clark, Jake Kingsolver, Clint Wolf, Shane Fallen
2008 Jonmarc Lippincott, Clint Wolf, Brad Clark, Jacob Robinson, James Robinson, Jelani Arnold
2007 Brad Clark, Clint Wolf, Jared Bradley, Joe Staten, Jacob Robinson (Defensive Player of the Game)
2006 No All Star Game
2005 Clint Wolf, Joe Staten, Jacob Robinson
2004 Brian Robinson, Clint Wolf, Courtney Parks, Ethan Goetz, Scott Pollak, Shawn Schmitt

League Honors

Year Player Award
2016 Kody Barth All-MVABL 1st Team (SS)
2016 Nick Gilmore All-MVABL 1st Team (2B)
2015 Brandon Riley All-MVABL 1st Team (C)
2015 Brennen Glass All-MVABL 1st Team (1B)
2015 Nick Gilmore All-MVABL 1st Team (2B)
2015 Robert Riley All-MVABL 2nd Team (3B)
2015 Todd Peck Playoffs MVP
2014 Jonmarc Lippincott MVABL Coach of the Year
2014 Kody Barth MVABL Rookie of the Year
2014 Robert Riley All-MVABL 1st Team (3B)
2013 Robert Riley All-MVABL 2nd Team (3B)
2012 Ian Huss MVABL College Player of the Year
2012 Ian Huss All-MVABL 1st Team (3B)
2012 Joe Becker Playoffs MVP
2012 Robert Riley MVABL Most Improved Player
2010 Clint Wolf All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2010 Clint Wolf MVABL XBH Leader
2010 Joe Staten All-MVABL 2nd Team (1B)
2010 Jonathan Silverman All-MVABL 2nd Team (P)
2010 Robert Riley All-MVABL 1st Team (3B)
2009 Brandon Howard All-MVABL 2nd Team (SS)
2009 Jelani Arnold Playoffs MVP
2009 Robert Riley All-MVABL 2nd Team (3B)
2009 Jake Kingsolver All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2009 Clint Wolf All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2008 Jacob Robinson MVABL Cy Young
2008 Jacob Robinson All-MVABL 1st Team (P)
2008 Jonmarc Lippincott All-MVABL 1st Team (SS)
2008 Clint Wolf All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2007 Clint Wolf MVABL MVP
2007 Clint Wolf All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2007 Joe Staten All-MVABL 1st Team (1B)
2006 Clint Wolf MVABL MVP
2006 Clint Wolf MVABL XBH Leader
2006 Clint Wolf All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)