skip navigation

The Registration "South Dayton Slammers" is not currently available.

South Dayton Slammers 2015 Team Photo

South Dayton Slammers Home Page

Visit the Slammers home page.

Inside the Slammers

2018 Championship game recap

By Rick Anderson 09/28/2018, 3:00pm EDT

The is past Sunday the South Dayton Slammers and Camden Redlegs met up for the second straight season for the MVABL championship.

The home team Slammers sent out their ace Jeff Beall, who was looking to finish the season undefeated on the mound.  After a fly out to start the game, the Redlegs got back to back singles but Beall was able to get two straight strikeouts to end the threat.

The Slammers were able to go up 1-0 as Deane Grandfield reached on a throwing error, which allowed him to go around to third base and he came home on a Todd Barhorst single.  The game stayed 1-0 until the Redlegs put together two singles, a SAC bunt, another single and a fielders choice to take a 2-1 lead.  But the Slammers came back in the bottom of the third inning by scoring three runs.  Dan Barhorst led off the inning with a walk and came around to score on a Tanner Lilly double off the base of the fence.  Grandfield bunted Lilly over to third base and Lilly scored on a wild pitch.  Clay Ragland walked and stole second base and Rick Anderson walked and Mark Barhorst then singled in Ragland for the 4-2 lead.  The Redlegs cut their deficit to 4-3 by scoring once in the top of the fifth inning but Todd led off the bottom of the fifth inning with a home run to get that run back and a 5-3 lead.  The Redlegs were looking to cut into the lead as they had the bases loaded and one out in the top of seventh inning but Beall got a hard ground ball to Lilly who started an inning ending 4-6-3 double play.  Lilly led off the bottom of the seventh inning and launched a home run to left field and with two outs Rick Anderson doubled home Todd from first base for the 7-3 lead.  In the bottom of the eighth inning, Beall helped himself by leading off with a triple and scored on Daniel’s single, who stole second, moved to third base on a ground out and scored on a wild pitch for the 9-3 lead.  The Redlegs got an unearned run the in top of the ninth inning but that wasn’t enough as the Slammers took game one 9-4.

The visiting Slammers got off to a fast start in game two by scoring twice.  Lilly got a one out double and stole third base and came home on a Grandfield ground out.  Todd singled and Ragland walked and Anderson doubled down the third base line to score Todd.  Alex Mezcua started for the Slammers and gave up a leadoff single but then got a double play ball and a pop up to himself to end the inning.  The Slammers then came up in the top of the second inning and played add on.  With one out, Austin Dozier and Beall singled and Daniel walked to load the bases.  Lilly then walked to force in a run and Grandfield single up the middle to score two runs.  Todd and Anderson also singled in a run each to push the Slammers lead to 7-0.  Mezcua held the Redlegs scoreless in the top of the third inning and the Slammers came up and scored five more runs for the 12-0 lead.  Daniel had an RBI double, Todd a two run single, Ragland a SAC fly and Anderson hit his fourth double of the day for another RBI.  The Slammers made it 16-0 in the top of the fourth inning as Lilly hit a two run home run and Anderson was hit with the bases loaded and Mark Barhorst walked with the bases loaded.  Mezcua held the Redlegs scoreless the next two innings as the Slammers got a force out at second base to end the game 16-0 and their back to back MVABL championship. 

Beall finished the season 15-0 on the mound and the Slammers finish the year 28-3 and with their second team championship.

W/L Record

Year Wins Losses
2018 22 3
2017 19 5
2016 15 7
2015 22 5
2014 16 11
2013 22 5
2012 14 15
2011 22 6
2010 15 11
2009 9 14


Year Players
2017 Dan Barhorst, Todd Barhorst, Mark Barhorst, Rick Anderson, Deane Grandfield, Troy Koze, Tanner Lee
2016 Dan Barhorst, Todd Barhorst, Rick Anderson, Dan Comes, Clay Ragland, David Schwehm
2015 Rick Anderson, Aaron Fannin, Mark Lucas, Todd Barhorst
2014 Deane Grandfield, Justin Wentworth, Aaron Fannin
2013 Matt Owens, Micah Wilson, Joey Everhart, Mark Hadaya, Hank Beasore, Rick Anderson
2012 Sean Casey, Micah Wilson, Rick Anderson
2011 Matt Owens, Deane Grandfield, Rick Anderson
2010 Chris Copeland, Justin Dunlap, Rick Anderson, Sean Casey
2009 Andrew Verrett, Justin Dunlap, Matt Owens

League Honors

Year Player Award
2017 Jon Venters Postseason Co-MVP
2017 Jeff Beall Postseason Co-MVP
2017 Rick Anderson All-MVABL 1st Team (C)
2017 Todd Barhorst All-MVABL 1st Team (1B)
2017 Dan Barhorst All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2016 Todd Barhorst MVABL MVP, All-MVABL 1st Team (3B)
2016 Dan Comes MVABL Cy Young
2016 Aaron Fannin All-MVABL 2nd Team (OF)
2016 Dan Barhorst MVABL Most Improved Player, All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2015 Rick Anderson All-MVABL 2nd Team (C)
2015 Todd Barhorst All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2014 Aaron Fannin Most Improved Player, All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2014 Justin Wentworth All-MVABL 2nd Team (P), Strikeout Leader
2013 Hank Beasore College POY, All-MVABL 1st Team (2B)
2013 Matt Owens All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2013 Joey Everhart All-MVABL 1st Team (3B)
2013 Rick Anderson Coach of the Year, All-MVABL 2nd Team (C)
2011 Chris Copeland All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2011 Rick Anderson Coach of the Year, All-MVABL 1stTeam (C)
2010 Chris Copeland All-MVABL 2nd Team (OF)
2010 Justin Dunlap All-MVABL 1st Team (OF)
2010 Sean Casey Cy Young
2009 Andrew Verrett All-MVABL 2nd Team (OF)
2009 Matt Owens All-MVABL 2nd Team (OF)
2009 Rick Anderson Coach of the Year