skip navigation

2022 Washington Twp. Wild Boars

2022 Washington Twp. Wild Boars

Turn Back the Clock Day 2021

2020 Washington Twp Wild Boars SOBF Fall Ball Champions

Boars Nest

Boars steal wind from Mariners sails

By Joe Cantrell 05/07/2024, 7:15pm EDT

Boars steal 2 wins in come from behind fashion

Schoolhouse Park Sunday May 5th, 

The Boars welcomed the Springboro Mariners for a pair of games on Sunday. The Mariners were coming off a split with the Wright Knights while the Boars were coming off a strong win against the Redleg’s. 

Dylan Bower would get the Start for the Boars and Chris Simms for M’s. Simms was tough holding the Boars scoreless through 5, while the Mariners staked their pitcher to a 3 run lead. The Boars Sid Srinivasan followed Nick Long in the order and drew a walk. Dylan Bower singled and Sid moved to 3rd Dylan would motor around as Micah Stewart would line a ball to the outfield for the 2 RBIs. Markus Hall would single to the gap driving in Stewart for the tie.  

The big blow, however, came from the former Mariner Mike Wischer III as he laced a ball past the shortstop scoring Hall and the mildly speedy Jacob Greve as the throw home went wide. The Boars had come from behind to take the lead. Ryan Earley needed 6 outs to get the win and he did just that with a little help from his infield turning a 4-6-3 DP in the 6th and a fly ball to Noah Lea in right to end the game.  

It was a total team effort in this one, but Defensive player of the Game goes to Micah Stwart at Shortstop 5 assist and 1 PO.  

Offensive Player of the Game goes to Mike Wischer III a clutch hit at the right time to put the Boars on top. 


Game 2 would have just as much excitement as the first game. 

The Boars would start early in this one scoring 1 in the home half of the 1st inning. Dylan Bower hit a single and was brought home by Markus Hall’s SAC fly. That lead would be countered in the 2nd as the Mariners tied the game at 1 off Boars Starter Sid Srinivasan in his 1st outing this year. 

The Mariners would take the lead 3 to 1 in the 3rd inning as PJ Dobbins entered the game, it would remain there until the 5th inning when the Boars pulled to within 1 run as Kyle Evans was HBP and worked his way to 3rd by a single from Drew Scarberry, and a SAC bunt from Jacob Greve. And an errant throw from the catcher allowed Evans to score.  

Big Sid Srinivasan led off the home half of the 6th and he ripped the double the Boars needed. Sid was lifted for the ever-speedy PJ Dobbins and the Hall of Famer did not disappoint as he scampered to 3rd on a WP. Dylan Bower would walk and not wasting any time stole 2nd. Micah Stewart would line his shot into the Mariners outfield scoring Dobbins on the tie and Bower for the go ahead run. Stewart would score to give the Boars a 2-run cushion. Dobbins as he usually does hit his stride, striking out the 1st batter Micah Stewart forced the 2nd runner at 2nd after a walk flipping it to Hall. And Boars Senior Captain Markus Hall flipped to 1st to get the last out and secure the win. 

Micah Stewart and Mike Wischer III take Boars Defensive Players of the Game Wischer had a perfect frame in the 6th While Stewart was about everywhere else on the diamond. 

Micah Stewart took Boars Offensive Player of the Game. His 2 RBI single and score put the Boars on top to take the sweep. 

The Wild Boars stay Home in Washington Twp. After the Mother's Day break. The Wild Boars want to wish every mom, wife, and girlfriend the Happiest of Days and thank you for allowing us to do what we like to do. Next up is twin bill with the Stars at Schoolhouse on the 19th of May. See you there. 

W/L Record

Year Wins Losses
2021 14 9
2019 19 5
2018 12 13
2017 10 14
2016 6 16
2015 1 25


Year Players
2021 Joe Cantrell Mgr. Sully Minner, Markus Hall, Matt Seibert, Jacob Greve, Jason Combs, Matt Yates, Nick Stewart, Gary North
2019 Joe Cantrell Mgr. Sully Minner, Markus Hall, Matt Seibert, Jimmy Herold, Colin Minner, Gary North, Zac Carey, Sean Johnson (CNP)
2018 Thomas Troy, Jimmy Herold, Dylan Pletsch, Sully Minner, Brandon Lucas, Markus Hall
2017 Grant Mink, Meade Tabata, Joey Wilson
2016 Brandon Lucas, Doug Adkins, Zach Carroll
2015 Travis Knight, Eric Nelson

League Honors

Year Player Award
2021 Matt Yates MVABL Cy Young Award
2021 Jacob Greve All MVABL 1st Team OF
2021 Jimmy Herold All MVABL 2nd Team C
2021 Matt Yates All MVABL 2nd Team P
2021 Sully Minner All MVABL 2nd Team 1B
2019 Joe Cantrell 2019 Coach of the Year
2019 Colin Minner MVABL Rookie of the Year
2019 Zac Carey All MVABL 2nd Team P
2019 Zac Carey All MVABL 2nd Team OF
2019 Markus Hall All MVABL 1st Team SS
2019 Colin Minner All MVABL 2nd Team 2B
2019 Sully Minner All MVABL 1st Team 1B
2018 Joe Cantrell 2018 Coach of the Year
2018 Dylan Pletsch All MVABL 1st Team OF
2018 Markus Hall All MVABL 2nd Team SS
2018 James Jimmy Herold All MVABL 2nd Team Catcher
2017 Meade Tabata All MVABL 2nd team Catcher
2016 Brandon Lucas Draft Pick of The Year